GOAN BEEF CROQUETTES

Croquettes are quintessentially a Goan delicacy.  When you think of popular Goan food, croquettes would surely come up tops on the list.    They are a popular food in every Goan catholic home and no feast day or celebration would be complete without these. These are readily available in most authentic goan restaurants, eateries and bakeries.

My first taste of these delicious snacks were at Café St Xavier’s in Mapusa.   I was newly married and had just moved to Goa.  I still remember going there with my husband on a Friday market day.   The place was bustling with people and filled with a cacophony of sound.   We finally managed to get a place to sit down.  Then the waiter followed with snack plates filled with assorted patties, samosas, croquettes etc.  I was so fascinated by this.  Even more fascinating was the billing system – I had never come across something like this in Bombay.   My hubby explained that they bill you by what’s left in the plate.  Of course, I had no complaints, I practically devoured these little delicacies.  I then checked out the recipe with my aunt in law who is a very good cook.  Back home I was so used to my mum making wonderful beef cutlets – they would either be the kebab style with raw mince or the normal cooked variety with a bit of potato mashed into it.  The croquettes were an absolute novelty for me.

Croquettes are made from a mildly spiced mixture of cooked and ground mince, onion, spices.  These are then rolled into cylindrical shapes, rolled in semolina and fried.  The end result is a croquette which is crispy on the outside and soft inside.  These make for a good starter/appetizer.  They can also be had as a light snack with a side of potatoes and salad or even used for sandwiches or wraps.  These freeze well so you can make a big batch and freeze them.  If frozen, then thaw in fridge before frying.

Do give these a try.

croquettes

Croquettes1

Ingredients:

½ kg lean mince

8-10  peppercorns, crushed

4  cloves

1” cinnamon

4-6 large garlic cloves

1/2” ginger

3 green chillies

1 kashmiri chilli

½ tsp turmeric powder

1 big onion, chopped

½ cup water

1 tsp salt

1 tbsp. vinegar or lemon juice

2 tbsp. chopped coriander leaves

2 slices of bread, crust removed and broken into pieces (see notes)

1 egg lightly beaten with 1 tbsp. of water

½ cup rava (semolina) for crumbing the croquettes

Oil for frying

Method:

  1. In a cooking pot, mix all the ingredients from mince to salt and cook on a medium flame till meat is cooked and  the moisture is absorbed.
  2. When nearly done, add the vinegar or lemon juice and the bread pieces. The bread pieces will help soak the moisture and also help with the binding.
  3. Switch of the flame and add the coriander leaves.  Check for seasoning. Allow to cool.
  4. Next grind the meat mixture in your food processor until it forms a paste. I add the egg when grinding.  (See notes)
  5. Empty the mixture into a bowl and keep it covered in the fridge for about ½ an hour to firm up.
  6. Make round balls of the mixture.
  7. Add rava to a plate or cutting board. Roll the balls in rava and form into cylindrical rolls.  Make sure the rolls are well coated with the rava.
  8. Remove these on to a plate and keep in the fridge for about 15 minutes or so before frying.
  9. Pan fry / deep fry these croquettes on a medium to hot flame.
  10. Enjoy

Notes:

  • The mince shouldn’t be fatty.
  • I had to grind this in two batches. I divided the egg mixture into 2 portions and added to each batch.  Alternatively, you could even dip the croquettes in beaten egg and then roll in rava but I find this way easier and less messy.
  • You could add the egg and the bread soaked in water and squeezed out to the mince mixture after it has been ground.
  • As much as I hate deep frying stuff, I believe deep frying the croquettes are a better option provided the oil is at the right temperature. I fried about 3 to 4 at a time, gently placing them in the oil with a slotted spoon.  They cook very fast and evenly.  You just need to brown/crisp up the outside.  All the ingredients are already cooked.
  • If pan frying, make sure to keep turning them gently in the pan making sure not to break them.
  • Above quantity yielded about 28 croquettes.

 

8 thoughts on “GOAN BEEF CROQUETTES

  1. JEAN FERNANDEZ says:

    Sunita , tried your recipe. Firstly, I got 22 croquettes. Secondly, as I was deep frying the croquettes started cracking / breaking. The taste was great n I followed your recipe to the T. I would appreciate if you could tell where I went wrong. Thanks

    Like

    • Hi Jean, thanks for trying and letting me know. Sorry for the late reply, I had an issue with wordpress and I wasn’t receiving any notifications. My apologies. The only reason I can think of is that the mixture may have been a bit wet or the oil temperature wasn’t hot enough. I have made these a few times, without any such problem. Maybe keep them in the fridge for a while to firm up and the oil should be quite hot. Hope it works out for you.

      Like

Leave a comment