MICROWAVE PEDA

I have to admit that I am not too much of a dessert person. I love my savories.  Thankfully, we have a few dessert queens within our group of friends so I normally do not volunteer to make a dessert.  In saying that, however, I must acknowledge that I do like to try my hand at making desserts  (in fact I began my culinary journey @ around 12 years of age with baking).  My standard summertime desserts were mango and coffee ice-creams.

Pedas are bite sized Indian sweets made with milk solids and sugar sometimes flavored with saffron and cardamom.  These delectable bite size pedas are very easy to make and look ever so pretty and make a good “bring a plate” dish.

I add the Grand Marnier for a bit of a twist.  It gives the pedas a subtle orange flavor.  You could add some grated orange rind too. The best part about this dish, apart from its taste, is the ease in the making; no stirring over a hot stove!!!!

IMG_4329

Ingredients:

 1-1/2 cups whole milk powder

½ cup sugar

½ cup full cream milk

1 tbsp butter

1 tbsp Grand Marnier (optional)

1/2 tsp. grated orange rind (optional)

A few strands of saffron

Edible silver balls for decoration

Method:

  • Add all the ingredients to a microwave safe bowl.  Set power to High.
  • Stir well and microwave for 2 minutes.
  • Keep stirring after every 2 minutes.   You will know it is done when the mixture begins to come together.
  • When done, allow to cool a bit, form into pedas and add a silver ball in the center of each peda.
  • Alternatively you can knead lightly and put into moulds.

Note:  I have a 1200W microwave.  These were ready in about 7 minutes.

Leave a comment